KT: Fright Night

Posted: August 22, 2011 in In Theatres, KT Personal, Reviews

I’m not a big fan of horror movies, per se, but JC is, so we went to see “Fright Night” on Sunday morning. I haven’t seen the original, so I can’t do any comparisons. I’m sure JC will.
I thought it was pretty good. Nothing that made my jaw drop, but overall, a fun movie.

Colin Farrell plays a great vampire – why he hasn’t before this outing, I don’t know. But he should! He’s got this great swagger about him and plays that sexy devil of the night just the way you want out of a vampire.

Anton Yelkin – I have really liked this dude ever since I saw “House of D” and “Alpha Dog” a few years back. I think he’s a real force to be reckoned with.

Imogen Poots – what a crazy name for this young actress. She reminded me of a young Sharon Stone. I expect to see a lot out of Miss Poots in the future.

David Tennant – I think this was a good transitional role (for American audiences, at least) from my favorite portrayal of The Doctor. David does a good job playing an ego-maniacal Criss-Angel-type with an actual heart underneath all the makeup and fake tattoos. It was good to see him again – the last time was live and in person in London where he’s playing Benedick in “Much Ado about Nothing.”

Christopher Mintz-Plasse – at some point he’s going to have to grow as an actor and play something other than McLovin. Still funny, but it’s starting to get old.

Toni Collette – she plays a great mom but I think she was way underutilized in this movie.

Two things that bothered me about this movie is (1) the way it was lit. I understand it’s a horror movie and it’s supposed to be dark, but man, this movie is DARK. Foggy, black, hazy, shadowy, hard to see. I get that it’s supposed to set a mood, but I thought it was a little overboard with the dark filters. It’ll be difficult to watch this movie with any lights on when it comes out on DVD. And (2) the special effects at the end of the film. We saw it in 2D, so I’m sure it was different in 3D, but the reveal at the very end left a really sour taste in my mouth.

If you want to see a fun, somewhat scary movie, give “Fright Night” a try.

Leave a Reply

