KT: “Attack the Block”

Posted: July 26, 2011 in In Theatres, KT Personal, Reviews

When J.C. and I visited London in May of this year, we saw a movie called “Attack the Block.” It was released in the UK on May 11th. It’s being released in the US on Friday, July 29th.

‘“Attack the Block” is a fast, funny, frightening action adventure movie that pits a teen gang against an invasion of savage alien monsters. It turns a London housing estate into a sci-fi playground. A tower block into a fortress under siege. And teenage street kids into heroes. It’s inner city versus outer space.’

I’d like to first say, I really enjoyed this movie when we saw it in London. I hope that it does well in the US, but I don’t know that it will. I haven’t seen any advertising for the US release and whenever I’ve talked about it with friends, they have no idea what I’m talking about. It’s unfortunate, because I think it’s a movie that should be seen at the theatre, but I believe that this will become a great DVD release for people who enjoy these types of movies.

The thing that this movie has going for them is having the line on the poster: “From the Producers of Shaun of the Dead.” Yep, Edgar Wright is the executive producer on this one. Nick Frost (oh how I love you Nick Frost!) also has a small-to-medium role in this film. He’s definitely not a major player, although he gets top billing on IMDB.

“Attack the Block” is directed by Joe Cornish, who has written the screenplay for the upcoming “TinTin”.

This movie really is about the up-and-coming British actors that do a fantastic job in portraying inner city kids. John Boyega plays “Moses”, the lead actor that goes from punk to hero within the span of the 90 minutes of this movie. He’s a force to be reckoned with; I believe this is just the beginning of young Boyega’s career. I look forward to seeing him in more features. With the exception of Jodie Whittaker, who plays female lead “Sam”, you most likely have never heard of any of these actors. However, this movie does not need a hugely known cast. This movie is going to be a cult hit that you show your friends and they show theirs —- in the future, we will say, “oh did you know that he was in this little independent British film a long time ago?”

Honestly, I would not be surprised if this movie gets remade for American audiences a few years down the road, with an American persuasion. This could easily be staged in the projects of southside Chicago (or any major city) and strive for the same goals that AtB has already achieved. For this movie’s sake, I hope that doesn’t happen. I don’t want this movie to get buried.

The one thing I’m really wondering about is the language barrier. JC and I watch a lot of British TV and film, and have British friends, so it’s a little easier for us to understand the slang terms and heavy accents. The actors in this film have heavy South-London accents and it may be hard for people to understand the slang they use. I wonder if that will be a complaint of people that see it this weekend.

The Creature(s) in this film are pretty bad-ass. This is my type of horror movie… with goodly-timed jumps, a bit of comedic elements to break tension, and just enough horror to make the hair on the back of your neck stand up. The soundtrack is very cool as well.

Overall, I’ll be glad when this movie is released on DVD/Blu-Ray. It’ll definitely have a place on our horror shelf.
If you want to try something else this weekend and get away from the big-budget blockbusters, give “Attack the Block” a try.

Comments
  1. Ken says:

    I can’t read. And by that, I mean “I’m not fond of the south side of Chicago anyway” 🙂 Isn’t it funny that as a culture, we are almost incapable of responding to anything worthy without marketing? Okay, by funny, maybe I meant very depressing. Kinda like politics. I’ll catch this one when I can, but don’t expect it will play near here.

  2. […] I’m not going to rehash this one. If you like sci-fi (not Syfy) check out Katie’s review here Attack the Block. Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

Leave a Reply

