KT: My Friend TED

Posted: July 13, 2011 in KT Personal

I’m a big fan of the TED talks.  Haven’t heard of them?  Hmmmm, we may have to take another look at our friendship.  TED is a nonprofit organization devoted to “Ideas Worth Spreading”. www.ted.com

One in particular was given in February 2009 by author Elizabeth Gilbert.  She’s best known for the worldwide best-selling book  Eat, Pray, Love.  She talks about nurturing creativity.  You can view it for yourself here:  http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/elizabeth_gilbert_on_genius.html

I believe that I was born to be a writer.  At the age of 31, I have had years where I’m more into it than others, but make no mistake, it is who I am.  My love of writing, my love of the written word, these are at the center of my very soul.  When I’m not feeling these passions, I know that I have succumbed to the depression that I have battled for most of my life.  I have to claw my way out of the depths of that depression, mostly through the written word, to get back to my best self.

What I really enjoy about what Elizabeth says is that no matter what’s going on, if you are a writer, you will power through whatever despair you are facing, and you will write, because it is what you are made to do!

A glimpse of God….this is what our creativity can be, if we choose to be the vessel.

When I start to think about my life in terms of needing my writing to pay the bills, this is when the creative rug is literally pulled out from under me, and the depression takes over.  But if I just, as Elizabeth says, show up for my part of the job, the rest will come.  I choose today to write.

Leave a Reply

