JC: Hopeful Director

Posted: July 7, 2011 in J.C. Personal

I have always thought that given the proper tools, I could make a movie. I have an eye for detail, I’m a good audio editor and I believe some of those skills would translate to video. I had considered making a documentary and I would still love to do this. My problem is that I don’t know anything about shooting scripts, coverage, lighting and the technical aspects that films with a budget hire people to do.

I have tons of ideas floating around in my head and as a writer, married to a writer, I am convinced that we could do something that would be entertaining, funny and violent (assuming we could get the effects right).

This dream is something that has been floating just out of reach for quite a while and there has been no progress because all of the extra money I have goes into the podcast and school.  I don’t have a camera, nor do I have the funds to rent one. That stuff is expensive. So I’m left with video, but the only camera I have is on my phone.

Thanks to the arguable brilliance of Tommy Wiseau and James Nguyen, I have to wait no longer. If these two can make movies that end up being cult classics, so can I.  In order to be anything, I know you just have to do it. I have found this out from my desire to be a podcaster and a stand-up comic. While I had encouragement to pursue these things, no one made them happen but me. If I want to make a movie, I just need to do it.

If I learned anything from The Room, it’s that the writer/director can be in his own movie and continuity and dialogue doesn’t matter. The Room is so nonsensical and the dialogue is horrible, yet people love it for how bad it is. Birdemic showcases wooden acting and special effects reminiscent of an Atari 2600.

So after seeing and writing all of that, what’s stopping me from making a movie? It looks like I am.

Leave a Reply

