KT: I’m “Crazy” for Not Seeing this Before!

Posted: July 6, 2011 in KT Personal, On DVD, Reviews

My husband knows me so well — which is perfect, since we’re celebrating ten years of marriage this September. He knows what horror movies I can handle and which ones to avoid. Last night he suggested we watch “The Crazies” (2010) because he thought I’d like it. He was right.

First off I should say, I wouldn’t classify myself as a horror fan. It’s not the first genre I gravitate towards at the DVD store and I’ve only seen a handful in the theatre. My husband, however, is a horror nut. So it makes for interesting movie nights sometimes. He respects my choice not to watch — simply because I cannot handle some of the images.

This movie was originally released in 1973, directed by George Romero from “…of the Dead” fame. We watched the remake, released in 2010, directed by Brent Eisner (who also directed “Sahara”). It stars Timothy Olyphant and Radha Mitchell as the sheriff and doctor of a small town in Iowa. Now I will admit, as soon as I saw Timothy Olyphant, my fears were eased and I knew I was going to like it. I really like this actor. Yes, he’s very handsome, but I just really love the mystique around him. Is he crazy? Is he going to go crazy? And, will we see it? I recognized Radha Mitchell from “Man on Fire” and thought she did a great job.

This movie wastes no time getting to the action. We find out quickly that something is going on in this stereotypical small town where everyone knows everyone. I don’t want to get into spoilers, but basically, some sort of biological terror is unleashed upon the town’s people and the proverbial **** hits the fan in short order.

While I’m not a big horror fan, I have to say that I am intrigued by these kinds of stories. “Resident Evil” is my favorite video game franchise and I enjoy those movies. “The Stand” is my all-time favorite novel. What I find most interesting about these stories is the human element. How people change. How people adapt. How people survive. The power of the human spirit.
I recommend “The Crazies” 2010. It has a 6.6 out of 10 on IMDB, which I think is low – but maybe in comparison with the original it took a hit? What do you think?

Leave a Reply

