KT: I Love the Smell of a New Book

Posted: June 30, 2011 in KT Personal, Reviews

Yep, I’m a big nerd when it comes to that kind of thing. The smell of a new book… the look of rows and rows of text in a library or a big box book store… the charm of a small book shop… these are the things that make my little heart go a-flutter.

I just re-read Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, in preparation for the theatrical release in a couple of weeks – yay! Of course, it was just a refresh, and I didn’t allow myself enough time to get sucked into the story. I really just wanted to hit the finer points again so I am prepared for the inevitable cry-fest that will happen at the premiere. I really would like to go to the midnight showing, to see the real hardcore fans in their Gryffindor colors and lightning bolt scars… the end of an era, I suppose.

So I needed a new book to read over the next few weeks before fall semester starts back up and I have no time for anything but school. J.C. pointed this book out to me in a really cool nerd store called “Forbidden Planet” in the Covent Garden section of London when we were there in May. Of course I snatched it up quickly and it’s been sitting on my bookshelf since our return to the states. I grabbed it this morning and I’m really looking forward to reading it. Of course I’ll let you know how it is after I’m done — I can’t imagine it’ll be anything but fantastic.

It’s called “Nerd Do Well” written by Simon Pegg of “Shaun of the Dead”, “Hot Fuzz”, and my personal favorite, “Spaced” fame. He’s one of those people that I feel like if I knew him in “real life” we would be friends. He has a miniature schnauzer after all. Maybe we could go on play dates with our pups.

I’ll let you know how it goes!

-Katie

Leave a Reply

