JC: I Heart The Nerdist

Posted: June 29, 2011 in J.C. Personal

It’s no secret that I have a hetero-man-crush on the Nerdist himself, Chris Hardwick. I follow him on Twitter, FB and even have weaseled my way to writing occasional movie reviews on his website: http://www.nerdist.com. Why do I like Hardwick so much? That’s what this post is about.

I first “met” Chris Hardwick as many people did, as the co-host of MTV’s Singled Out. This was the trash TV of my high-school career. The show was a cattle call for fit women and men with Jenny McCarthy generally being gross and getting people to say things that would make your average person blush. When Singled Out went off the air, I forgot about Mr. Hardwick until…

2003: I sat in a theater with a friend watching Rob Zombie’s House of 1000 Corpses: Way to go Hardwick!  Starring in the first horror film by one of my favorite live musical acts. Cool. While I had my issues with the movie, it was Zombie’s love letter to the films he loves and the cast was cool. Then…

Sometime in January, 2008, I was watching Comedy Central, as I often do, and my mind was blown. Hardwick was doing musical comedy now? Acting, hosting, comedy… this guy was great and maybe this was the beginning of, not necessarily a comeback, but a breakout? I did not know. I only know that I laughed hysterically and thought about how I always thought he was cool. When…

Summer of 2009 brought Web Soup and Chris’s brand of nerdy humor was filling my head once a week while we laughed at the dumb things people will try and their former friends who post it on the internet. Until…

In February of 2010, I found out that Hardwick now hosted a podcast, one of my favorite forms of media; I was a podcaster myself, after all, and while listening to said podcast, I found out that CH would be telling jokes and attempting to make people laugh, a short distance from my house. Therefore…

On May 1, 2010, my wife and I went to see Chris “Nerdist” Hardwick at The Comedy Attic and I LOVED the show, but the show is an afterthought when compared to meeting Chris after the show. He even recorded a bumper for my podcast. He was so genuine and friendly and his demeanor is so encouraging.

Listening to “Big C” Chris Hardwick talk with his friends Matt and Jonah each week, I have been encouraged to elevate the movie podcast I do with my wife, I have been encouraged to try and fall in love with performing stand-up and even now I am being encouraged to lose some weight. Hardwick has helped to make it okay to be nerdy about stuff that you enjoy. He has launched a social media site for creative/nerdy people and his book, The Nerdist Way is on pre-order from Amazon.com. Not to mention that he’s one half of the reason I started watching Doctor Who. I can’t wait for The Nerdist television program on BBC America.

Would I have latched onto something else, if Hardwick hadn’t done all of this stuff or if he was an ass when I met him, would I have been inspired to try stand-up? The world will never know, but suffice to say at this time in my life, I’m a Nerdist nerd.

J.C.

 

Leave a Reply

